Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: Migrated to Confluence 4.0

This page captures the on-going effort to enable Jenkins plugin development in Ruby. See our manifest to understand what we are trying.

comment
 This meeting has stopped.
The effort revolves around [weekly hack session on WebEx|https://gist.github.com/890558].

| *When* | Every Thursday morning, 8am PT, 10am CT, 12am Tokyo, 3pm GMT |
| *Where* | [WebEx|https://thefrontside.webex.com/mw0306ld/mywebex/default.do?service=1&siteurl=thefrontside&nomenu=true&main_url=%2Fmc0805ld%2Fe.do%3Fsiteurl%3Dthefrontside%26AT%3DMI%26EventID%3D171271412%26UID%3D498089437%26Host%3D3a32cca52a25093c4330%26FrameSet%3D2] hosted by [cowboyd|http://twitter.com/cowboyd/]\\ |
| *Who* | Anyone willing to lend some hands to [the cause|http://blog.thefrontside.net/2011/05/12/what-it-take-to-bring-ruby-to-jenkins/]\\ |

See our meeting notes

Getting started

Documentation for Ruby plugin development is on the GitHub wiki

Repositories

Relevant source code of the runtime is all in the jenkins.rb GitHub repository.

In addition, existing plugins that are implemented in pure Ruby might be useful as examples

Developing the plugin development SDK

See how to get started on modifying the development SDK

Additional documents

Immediate TODOs

  • recruit people who fill in the implementation for TDD cucumber task
  • How do we write tests?

Long term goals

  • Figure out live reloading of code, not just views.